Motorcycles

This is the polite off topic forum. If you’re looking to talk smack and spew nonsense, keep moving along.

Moderators: mgil, chromoly

murphyreedus

Motorcycles

Post by murphyreedus » Sat Jul 24, 2021 9:10 pm

Any riders here?

I was out of the game for the last decade, but picked up a well-kept 2016 KLR 650 Adventure today. I've been looking at bikes for a while, and the jack-of-all-trades-but-master-of-none KLR seems like a perfect way to get back into it. I'm not a beginner rider, but I felt like one after not sitting on a bike for 10 years, and my last bikes were rockets and sport touring models. Fortunately, it came back fast, and I was able take it for a test ride and then ride the 20 miles back home without killing it or having any notable issues. Seems like a pretty easy bike to ride, and the previous owner had bought it new and kitted it out pretty well with crash bars/luggage/accessories, so there isn't much I plan to add to it at this point.

That said, I definitely need to up my gear game. My old riding jacket was the only piece of gear I had left, but I was already a lifter back then and it still more or less fits. I picked up a decent basic helmet and some riding gloves, but I'll be looking to upgrade all of that (plus pants and footwear) once I figure out what I want. I'm also intrigued by how far air bag vests have come since I was last riding. I don't know if I'll get one, but I'll certainly be doing some more research.

murphyreedus

Re: Motorcycles

Post by murphyreedus » Thu Jul 29, 2021 3:00 pm

Since all of you are boring:

I upgraded my jacket armor to ForceField CE level 2 elbow/shoulder/back pads. Much more substantial than the old stuff. I also ordered a new Icon helmet and some armored riding pants and boots, but they haven't arrived yet. I've put a hundred or so miles on the bike so far, a mix of in town, highway, and around my yard. Throttle/clutch/lowspeed stuff is definitely improving. Haven't had to fill up the tank yet.