sauerkraut

Recipes and such

Moderator: d0uevenlift

Idlehands
Sunshine + Unicorns

sauerkraut

Post by Idlehands » Thu Jun 04, 2020 7:22 am

Buddy was trading me his homemade sauerkraut for desserts.
Holy shit is it good. I am now making my own, with dill and cucumbers. I also have ghost peppers growing in the garden. Can't fucking wait to make a batch of that with dill cucumbers and garlic cloves!

hector

Re: sauerkraut

Post by hector » Fri Jun 12, 2020 8:15 pm

This sounds amazing.

I'm not good at making stuff. I just had some of the raw, fermented sauerkraut with Persian pickles from Trader Joe's.

Skid

Post by Skid » Sat Jun 13, 2020 7:42 pm

Like a good squarehead I make a batch every year with cabbage from the garden. I've got one of those big crocks with the water seal to keep air out. Works pretty good! Tastes great and good for gut health too.

Idlehands
Sunshine + Unicorns

Post by Idlehands » Tue Jun 30, 2020 11:09 am

My father did not like the dill with cucumbers(i guess pickles at the point) Though all my friends liked it. I have a plain batch fermenting now. Going to pick up some red cabbage and some beets and not sure what else for the one after this. Love the stuff. Free calories and gut health woooot!(well not so much the beets)

5hout

Post by 5hout » Thu Jul 02, 2020 9:31 am

Skid wrote: Sat Jun 13, 2020 7:42 pm Like a good squarehead I make a batch every year with cabbage from the garden. I've got one of those big crocks with the water seal to keep air out. Works pretty good! Tastes great and good for gut health too.
Do you happen to have one with the original "lid" thing that sinks down into it? Some of the old ones are remarkably collectible, with the lid.

Skid

Post by Skid » Thu Jul 02, 2020 8:22 pm

5hout wrote: Thu Jul 02, 2020 9:31 am