Heads should roll at Boeing

This is the polite off topic forum. If you’re looking to talk smack and spew nonsense, keep moving along.

Moderators: mgil, chromoly

omaniphil

Heads should roll at Boeing

Post by omaniphil » Sun Apr 21, 2019 12:32 pm

https://spectrum.ieee.org/aerospace/avi ... -developer

I'm no aviation expert nor a software developer but this guy seems to have a pretty convincing explanation action of all that went wrong with the 737 MAX planes. If only half of what he said is true, nobody in the aviation design or avionics software departments should ever work in aviation again.

Mattjd

Re: Heads should roll at Boeing

Post by Mattjd » Sun Apr 21, 2019 4:57 pm

They used 1 sensor, and claimed there was no new training required but there clearly was. The entire is a corporate issue. The competing company came out with a new plane and Boeing had to make something to compete, there was issues so they solved(tried to) it with software(not uncommon).

iamsmu

Post by iamsmu » Sun Apr 21, 2019 5:26 pm

Wow. That was an excellent article. I can't wait to get a self driving car that won't let me steer because it trusts a single fallible sensor more than my own lying eyes.

This is one of those mistakes after which you really should find a new career. If 346 people died because you suck at what you do, find a new job. Have some shame. . . . I've taken sites down due to my own bugs. I felt terrible. But I never killed anyone. I wouldn't have pushed the code if the stakes were that high. If someone died because of my code, I'm not sure I could live with it, not if the design flaws were this glaring.

Savs
Dream Weaver

Post by Savs » Sun Apr 21, 2019 5:33 pm

omaniphil wrote: Sun Apr 21, 2019 12:32 pm If only half of what he said is true, nobody in the aviation design or avionics software departments should ever work in aviation again.