Nutrition for Beginners? | Simplifying Nutrition for the Sake of Compliance

What's a carb? A car part? What's a macro? A type of camera lens?

Moderator: Manveer

Reygunz

Nutrition for Beginners? | Simplifying Nutrition for the Sake of Compliance

Post by Reygunz » Fri Dec 07, 2018 7:40 pm

I have had very little success with nutritional compliance since I started training; therefore, I consider myself a beginner in this realm. As such, I am turning to you guys in order to get objective opinions.

I never really learned how to cook so when I try to cook, the food turns out pretty bad which causes me to eat out, or I’ll be unprepared and end up eating trash food or totally skipping a meal. As you can imagine, I’m terrible at tracking calories and protein let alone carbs and fat.

I’ve read the article “To Be a Beast” and several others, but I think it’s foolish for me to attempt to incorporate all of those things as a beginner who has poor eating habits. Tell me if I’m wrong. Simplifying nutrition in order to create compliance adding complexity as an individual becomes more compliant and starts experiencing diminishing returns seems like a much better plan to me personally. I think this is relatable to more than just a handful of beginners (maybe not on this platform). With that in mind, I’d like to broaden this topic to not just cover myself.

Now I guess one way to start is understanding the goal. I think that most of the goals could be categorized. Here is my suggestion (which could be very wrong): weight gain, weight loss, and recomposition. This could be further subcategorized or maybe the macro categories should be based on sex.

Where would you start a beginner based on each goal (these goals can be changed based on what you think is more realistic or based on what you think the categorization should be)? Would you need more information? What should be tracked to start with or should the beginner not track if his eating habits are so poor?