Gainng weight

What's a carb? A car part? What's a macro? A type of camera lens?

Moderator: Manveer

Sergio07

Gainng weight

Post by Sergio07 » Fri Sep 21, 2018 4:28 am

Hi all, this is my first time posting in this forum, I came from the Starting Strenght Forums,but I got recommendations to join here.
Yesterday I posted a thread in the other forum saying that I wanted to see which program it's the best after the SSLP, however the people said that I needed to gain a lot of weight before checking on intermeadiate programming, the recommend me to gain 3-5 pounds per week, however I really don't think that's a sustainable approach for me, I wanted to know what's a decent rate of weekly/monthly weight gain to drive progress and not to stall in my main lifts?

My stats:
Height: 5'8"
Weight: 137 pounds

Squat: 90kgx5
Deadlift: 97.5kgx5
Bench: 62.5kgx1
Press: 42.5kgx1

JohnHelton

Re: Gainng weight

Post by JohnHelton » Fri Sep 21, 2018 4:39 am

3-5 lbs. per week is stupid. A pound per week is rapid weight gain. At your age and weight, you should probably shoot for .5-.75 per week. Gaining strength and size is a marathon, not a sprint. There is no reason to gain as rapidly as humanly possible. There are no awards for that.

Once you stop making gains on a novice program, then you should move on to an intermediate program. It has nothing to do with your weight.

Also, read Greg Nuckols ebook, The Art of Lifting.

Sergio07

Post by Sergio07 » Fri Sep 21, 2018 4:45 am

JohnHelton wrote: Fri Sep 21, 2018 4:39 am 3-5 lbs. per week is stupid. A pound per week is rapid weight gain. At your age and weight, you should probably shoot for .5-.75 per week. Gaining strength and size is a marathon, not a sprint. There is no reason to gain as rapidly as humanly possible. There are no awards for that.

Once you stop making gains on a novice program, then you should move on to an intermediate program. It has nothing to do with your weight.