Competition Mindset

Powerlifting, Olympic Weightlifting, Strongman, Highland Games

Moderator: Manveer

LexAnderson
small whoopie mouse

Competition Mindset

Post by LexAnderson » Thu Aug 30, 2018 6:27 am

So I'm curious about everyone's competition mindset? How do you approach the bar on meet day versus when you are in the gym training? Do you usually play it too conservative with your weight selections, or do you go balls to the wall and always go heavier than you should? If you could change your mindset to be different how would you change it, and why?

I've always been interested in peoples thought processes, and how they approach things mentally.

JohnHelton

Re: Competition Mindset

Post by JohnHelton » Thu Aug 30, 2018 5:29 pm

I've only done two meets. For both I was conservative with my selections. I would say my final lifts weren't higher than a 9 RPE. However, that really wasn't totally on purpose. I'm new to the sport, so I really didn't know how strong I was. On hindsight I would have liked to push it a little more. However, coming away from the meet knowing that I could have done more has certainly fueled my subsequent training. Additionally, I think I get a little jacked mentally when competing. Not that you could see it outwardly. But I almost puked both times before the meet started. Had to go out to the parking lot since I thought I was going to spew breakfast. Plus, I really benefit from a taper.

LexAnderson
small whoopie mouse

Post by LexAnderson » Fri Aug 31, 2018 7:23 am